Failte go dtí ...        Welcome to ...

« Previous Artist


Next Artist »
Celtic Metal band formed in 1993 in Armagh

About Waylander

Formed in 1993, Waylander released their debut demo, Once Upon an Era, in early 1995, mixing Irish folk music with extreme metal. Waylander were soon dubbed folk, Celtic and pagan metal.

In 1996, with the addition of a full time tin-whistle player, Waylander released their second demo, 'Dawning of a New Age'. They signed to Century Media Records, and in 1998 their debut album was released, entitled 'Reawakening Pride Once Lost'.

After overcoming some line-up changes, Waylander signed with Blackend Records and released their 'The Light, the Dark and the Endless Knot' album in 2001. Again internal strife reared up, culminating in numerous line-up changes for several years. Despite this Waylander managed to perform some notable gigs, including the Bloodstock and Day of Darkness festivals, as well as gigs with Ancient Rites, Cathedral, Return to the Sabbat and Skyforger. In 2005, joining original members ArdChieftain O’Hagan, Michael Proctor, and Den Ferran were Saul McMichael and Gareth Murdock on guitars.

In 2008 Waylander signed with Listenable Records for third album, entitled 'Honour Amongst Chaos'.

In 2009, Gareth Murdock left the band to be the new bassist for the Scotish band Alestorm.


ArdChieftain O'Hagan - Vocals
Saul McMichael - Guitars
Michael Proctor - Bass
Den Ferran - Drums
Dave Briggs - Folk Instruments
Tor Dennison - Guitars


Born To Fight (audio only)


If you have any comments you would like to add about Waylander, please enter them here:
Your Name:
Verification Code: verification code
Enter the above verification code here:
Back to list of Irish Rock Artists