Failte go dtí ...        Welcome to ...

« Previous Artist

Hey Paulette

Next Artist »
Indie band formed in Dublin in 1987, split in 1991

About Hey Paulette

Hey Paulette were formed in Dublin in 1987 by Eamonn Davis (singer/rhythm guitars). Colm Fitzpatrick (bass) and Derrick Dalton (lead guitars) joined forces with Eamonn to write pop tunes. Some people labelled them a C86 band, as they were into writing melodic jingly jangly tunes.

Hey Paulette recorded their first single 'Commonplace' in their late teens with a drum machine for the label Mickey Rourke's fridge run by enigmatic Sean A McDermott. It topped the alternative top ten on Capital Radio in 1988. They evantually recruited a drummer called Darren Nolan who stayed with the band to the end in 1991.

After sending a copy of 'Commonplace' to John Peel they were invited to record a session for BBC Radio One in 1988. Following this they also recorded a session for Dave Fanning.

They recorded an EP entitled "I Really Do Love Penelope". Hey Paulette split in 1991 and their final two songs were released on the indie label Tweenet following their split.

Hey Paulette reformed for one night in 2005 to play homage to the late John Peel.

Download Hey Paulette MP3s

Download 25 FREE songs at! The emusic service offers MP3s downloads of many of the artists listed on Click the emusic image on the left to sign up for a free trail and then search emusic to see if Hey Paulette tracks are available on the site.


If you have any comments you would like to add about Hey Paulette, please enter them here:
Your Name:
Verification Code: verification code
Enter the above verification code here:
Back to list of Irish Rock Artists